Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Latest News/An Scéal is Déanaí: Latest News From MIC

Fitzgibbon Cup Homecoming and Celebration Dinner

29 March 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Lorraine Hynes
Share |

Fitzgibbon Cup Homecoming and Celebration Dinner

Mary Immaculate College welcomed home its victorious Senior Hurling Team, who are back to back Fitzgibbon Cup champions 2016 & 2017, at a special event held in the College on Thursday 2 March.

The team, managed by Jamie Wall, made it a Fitzgibbon Cup two-in-a-row on Saturday 25 February when they overcame IT Carlow in the final of the championship with a full time score of MIC 3-24 to IT Carlow 1-19.

Speaking at the homecoming event, which was well attended by staff and students alike, Professor Eugene Wall, Acting President of MIC, said: “This victory marks a historic moment in our College’s history. For a College with just 3,800 students to secure such a title is a wonderful achievement. To do it twice is extraordinary. Your determination and tenacity during the match was inspiring and you truly were deserving victors. We are all very proud of you.
“Teams like this do not become champions without excellent management and support. I would like to acknowledge the work of MIC’s hurling team manager, Jamie Wall, who steered this team in the direction of victory”.

He also paid tribute to Eoin Quirke, who captained the team to victory, to Cian Lynch, on being named TG4 Man of the Match, to all of the back room team and to Ciara Cregan, MIC Sports Officer and Joe Redington, MIC GAA Development Officer, on supporting the team to their victory.

A celebration dinner in honour of the MIC Fitzgibbon Cup Champions 2017 will be held on Monday 3 April in the Castletroy Park Hotel.  Drinks reception at 7.30pm



Pictured at the MIC Fitzgibbon Cup homecoming event in Mary Immaculate College on Thursday 2 March were 
Front Row: L-R: Sean Linnane, Aaron Gilane, Conor Toomey, Darragh O’Donovan, Conor Sheehan, Jamie Wall (Manager), Professor Eugene Eall, Acting President of MIC, Tim O’Mahony, Thomas Grimes, Pa Ryan, Alan Walsh and Sean Kilduff.
Back Row: L-R: Ciara Cregan, MIC Sports Officer, Richie English, Thomas Monaghan, Tadhg Gallagher, Paul O’Connell, Philip Hickey, Mickey Browne, Diarmuid Whelan, James Mackey, Eoin Kiely, Alan Walsh, Eoin Quirke (Captain), Alan Flynn, Liam Ryan, Cian Lynch, Ronan Maher, Andrew Mossie O’Brien, Ciarán Barret, Luke Meade, Maidhc Ó Conghaile, Colm Guilfoyle, Sean Burke and Joe Redington, MIC GAA Officer.

Missing from photo: Colm Galvin, Michael O’Neill, Stephen Cahill and David Sweeney., followed by dinner at 8pm and dancing until late. Tickets (€50 for full eve


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal